The Opal Strip


I should have been more careful, but it is nothing more than an inconvenience.  Thank the good egg.

I was stuck in a processional in L-Side.  They call it The Opal Strip.  Participation is required for peers of L-Side.  They all wear orange stripes, sing, and march back and forth.  The parade stops, and it goes the other way, then it cycles back.

This goes on through the night.  There is a sleep break, then it is repeated each of the days for a half moon.

“Where are your stripes peer?” a man asked with the light-fire smile, “it is orange and in the orange glow, the apple blossom row, we stay friendly till the stripes are low.  So, did you forget?  Wait, are you parents from OS? I’m joking of course.”

“I am not from this domain,” I said, with the look that means help I’m lost, “I am passing through to Starside”.

“Starside is nice during cold,” the peer sung, his physique was rock solid, “You need your stripes.  If you want, I’m just down the street, I have an extra…”

“I will follow you,” I finally said.

Turned out to be a mistake.

Leave a comment